Diposkan pada English, Journal, Perspective

Critic vs Harassment on Twitter

As you can read here, I seriously plan for #Twexit due to being uncomfortable using Twitter as a social media. I have been on Twitter from more than 10 years, changing accounts along the way. And now I can say that I am disappointed in what Twitter has become.

I started using Twitter on 2007 I think, where I didn’t even know what it was it at that time. Learning the features as the time goes by, I keep changing accounts due to personal reasons. Now I mainly only use it for news or a little chit chat here and there with some users. But unlike the previous decade, now having Twitter is so complicated.

Previously we don’t have to use phone number, but now it is a must otherwise our account can’t be used properly. Perhaps it is to avoid illegitimate users, but even now, there are still many buzzers or trolls on Twitter in my opinion.

Also as I wrote here (use translator if needed), my previous account was suspended just after I gave a constructive critism to a company. I tried to appeal but there was no clear answer given by the support team. What? Constructive critism is not allowed in Twitter? Making other factions feeling uncomfortable can not be tolerated? I didn’t even insult them.

Then I made another account and it was “limited” just because I had a heated debate with other users. As told here, “limited” account can only be unlocked by having a phone verification. I have tried to call my number many times to no avail while I could send verification text just fine. I have tried to appeal but not even a real customer service showed up, all I got was just some auto replies from templates. After a few weeks stayed “limited”, suddenly it was suspended.

I have another account, but only a month later, it was “limited” again which I didn’t even realize why it happened. I have contacted my provider just to make sure I can receive calls from foreign countries. They said there is no problem on my side but I still couldn’t get Twitter to call me for verification. I have tried to appeal too but there is no answer until now.

While I didn’t even curse, harass or bully anyone on this account. Besides of some critical comments in a reasonable degree of politeness, all I did was liking or retweeting other tweets. I have tried to be very polite but it still didn’t work out. What’s your deal, Twitter?

What kind of users can stay at this new Twitter environtment and with what degree level of politeness? Some people have called me out but I didn’t even reply so I didn’t break the rules of harassing people. But that is not enough?

While out there there are many, many users with unreasonable amounts of harassment, mocking, and bullying. I even reported some of them but they are still there. When I myself complained about being “harassed”, the support team disagreed and let it be, while I have my account removed just because of “critic”. I couldn’t even voice my opinion that bring people displeasure but somehow other people could do that to me?

Or is it because of my affiliations, which somehow don’t align with Twitter “policy”? Should I flock to the “winning side” to do everything I want without being blocked?

If that so then perhaps #Twexit is the best choice. I don’t know how “polite” I should be to fit in on this current Twitter environment. I can’t have other people’s fragile feelings get in the way of voicing my opinions while I can’t even have my own feelings being protected from harassment. And if it is my affiliations which are not on the “right side”, then perhaps Twitter should list what kind of affiliations they “accept” at this platform so the “outsiders” can stay away from it.

Yeah, I know I am just an average citizen but it doesn’t mean that I can be treated without any consideration. There are many other alternative social media out there, Parler for example. If there is no better approach then don’t be surprised when not long from now there will be some new emerging social media powerhouses and something like Twitter, perhaps, will only be our kind of Friendster today.

Read also:

Is This The Time for #Twexit ?

Social Media and Neutrality

France, Muslim, and That Thing Called Freedom of Speech

Contradictions of The So-Called Free Speech in France: From Charlie Hebdo Firing Anti-Semitic Cartoonist to Macron Berating Journalist

Hijab Ban and The Free Countries

Selective Humanity in the Fortress of Civilization

#Boycottfranceproducts is Trending, Here’s How to Boycott Anything French

Here’s How to Support Palestine: Donate, Boycott, and More

Boycott India is Viral in Islamic World, These are Some Things Muslims Should Know

Top Islamic Movies and TV Shows That Every Muslim Needs on Their Watchlist

Tinggalkan komentar